My Final Days – poem by OTL

“So old so soon,

                    so smart so late.”

I remember my grandfather saying those words to me one afternoon when I was a child of five.  Those words have been in my mind since that day.  They move in the shadows between so many thoughts.   – – Thinking of him, now thinking of me.

 Lg Palouse-Falls-CROP

As a child when I heard my grandfather make that statement,

I really had no idea what he meant.

                                          – – – only knew he was now old.

As a man now having reached his sixties,

        I understand – well,

        very well,

Their meaning.

I have had experiences

        Wonder

        Adventure

        Learning

        Achievement

        Struggles and failures

        Pain

        Growth and success

        Embarrassment

        Even shame

        Self discovery

True sense of my true self.

I have part of the answer to the question –

Who am I?

I am blessed.

I am gifted.

An eternal learner.

An eternal student of life,

        With much more

        Yet to discover

        Yet to learn

        Yet to embrace.

However, even this day well before my last,

I can stand “grounded”.

I look back over many years of life.

I have a history.

With that history

               I look forward to the next chapters of this life

               However many may yet be left.

That I don’t know,

Nor ever will.

Only after I pass, will others be able to tell you.

Now standing here,

At the head of “my parade”

Built upon the richness that all of my personal history affords me,

        The paths I have walked,

        The miles I have traveled,

        The energy of the universe

                    Urges me

                              To be a contributor,

                              An active participant,

                              A co-creator,

                                       of my remaining days.

And so – I commit.

Poem by – – OTL 8.16.12

Be Still – – – and Know

 

Your thoughts and comments are always welcomed.  Write a few words to share.

Take this opportunity to “teach” all of us who seek deeper truth in life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

